Senator Joni Albrecht

Dedicated, Experienced Leadership

Senator Albrecht was born and raised in Sarpy County where she served on the Papillion City Council for 8 years and on the Sarpy County Board for 4 years. Professionally, Joni worked in the automobile industry as an employee of Huber Chevrolet and Cadillac for 33 years. In 2010 Joni married Mike Albrecht and moved to Thurston County where she became involved in agriculture.

Married to a fourth generation farmer, Joni shares in the day-to-day operation of their farm which includes a cow/calf operation, a small feedlot, corn and soybeans. Joni is a member of St. Paul’s Lutheran Church in Emerson and the Women’s Legion Auxiliary in Emerson. Joni and her husband Mike have six grown children and 12 grandchildren.

In the Legislature, Senator Albrecht served on the Agriculture Committee and as the chair of the Business and Labor Committee being the first woman and first freshman senator to do so. She now serves on the Natural Resources, State-Tribal Relations, and Transportation and Telecommunications Committees. Additionally, she is a member of the Nebraska Economic Development Task Force which works with the Department of Economic Development and the Department of Labor to monitor and craft long-range strategic plans to improve economic development within the state.

Senator Albrecht has received the endorsement of the Nebraska Republican Party and is supported by:

  • Governor Pete Ricketts
  • Lt. Governor Mike Foley
  • Attorney General Doug Peterson
  • State Treasurer John Murante
  • Former Governor Kay Orr
  • U.S. Senator Deb Fischer
  • U.S. Congressman Jeff Fortenberry
  • U.S. Congressman Adrian Smith
  • U.S. Congressman Don Bacon
  • Speaker of the Legislature Jim Scheer
  • Education Committee Chair Mike Groene
  • General Affairs Chair Tom Briese
  • Government, Military, and Veterans Affairs Chair Tom Brewer
  • Natural Resources Chair Dan Hughes
  • Transportation and Telecommunications Chair Curt Friesen
  • Executive Board Chair Mike Hilgers
  • Senator John Arch
  • Senator Bruce Bostelman
  • Senator Rob Clements
  • Senator Myron Dorn
  • Senator Steve Erdman
  • Senator Suzanne Geist
  • Senator Tim Gragert
  • Senator Ben Hansen
  • Senator Mark Kolterman
  • Senator Andrew LaGrone
  • Senator Lou Ann Linehan
  • Senator John Lowe
  • Senator Mike Moser
  • Senator Dave Murman
  • Senator Julie Slama